Why attend a meeting?

I think this is a very valid question.

I mean, metal detector fans are a solitary bunch. When we are not hunting alone, we hunt with the one hunting buddy we’ve met. But there are several good reasons to attend a meeting.

Here are my top reasons to attend the meeting on the 5th of May:

1) You get to see many different brands of detectors. If you’ve been wondering about detector X or detector Y. Here’s your chance to see one up close and to speak with a person who has used it.

2) You get to find out what people are finding where. You may think a park is hunted out but you may meet the guy who has been pulling silver from there. Who knows? He (or she, let’s not be sexists here) might just tell you The Secret.

3) You get to network a bit. I am terrible with people and it is for sure I will never get permission to hunt a farm where an old homestead or school once stood. But if I am nice and pleasant to hang out with, I may make a friend or two who will invite me to hunt one of those (hint, hint)

4) You get to meet people who have dug more trash than you and who may know a thing or two about this hobby. I learned the proper way to hunt from one of the venerated veterans of this hobby after seeing him pull a Seated dime from a ‘hunted out’ park at a small town in Kansas.

5) You get to meet Steve.

Come and join us on the 5th at Linwood park and you may discover more reasons to hang out with us.

– pulltabMiner

This entry was posted in Group Meeting on by .

About pulltabMiner

I like metal detecting and playing the ukulele. I am a better metal detectorist than I am a uke player. I also like doing things with my two sons like fishing, biking, and otherwise goofing around. In the past I have grown vegetables with great success but since we got the big dog, nothing lives in my yard that he decides should not. Occasionally, the drawing bug bites me and I draw with pencil and ink. I've dabbled in foreign languages and my latest obsession is mining and trading cryptocurrencies. I think of myself as a well rounded nerd.

2 thoughts on “Why attend a meeting?

Leave a Reply

