Woohoo

Well today was the big day. It was the first ever Wheat State Treasure Hunters meeting. This morning there was conversation on whether or not the weather would hamper our attendance. It was mid to high forties and cloudy with a breeze. When I arrived at Linwood Park at around 2:30 the wind had lessened and the sun was peeking through. We ended up having 17 people at our first meeting. I was pleasently surprised with the attendance. We went through a short introduction and discussed what kind of group we envisioned. We then quickly started talking about detecting. I was very pleased to see some of the most experienced folks rubbing elbows with those who have just started in the hobby. We fielded a few questions and then we started looking at equipment and hunting. As far as I know nobody really dug much but I can say that I smiled when I looked across the entire park and saw MD’ers. I hope everyone who attended enjoyed their time with us and I promise our meetings will only improve with time.

I managed to snap this photo while everyone was discussing the legalities of detecting around Wichita!

I managed to snap this photo while everyone was discussing the legalities of detecting around Wichita!

I snapped this pic while everyone started bringing their machines out. Notice the older machines on the table.

I snapped this pic while everyone started bringing their machines out. Notice the older machines on the table.

4 thoughts on “Woohoo

  1. skynyrd420

    Curious about some of the specific legal do’s n dont’s in relevance to wichita and or Kansas that people know of and maybe found out on personal experience.?

    Reply
  2. David

    It was great to get to meet new friends and old ones (not that I am calling anyone old LOL).

    I think when the weather turns nicer, the turn out will be even better.

    Reply
  3. skynyrd420

    Thanks pulltab, interested to see what everyones experiences have been…..excited for the cleanup tonight too…well, excited to get done cleaning up and get to gaining some knowledge and maybe even digging up a coin or two

    Reply

Leave a Reply

