December’s meeting

We had a beautiful sunny day for our December meeting at the Sedgwick County park. Attendance was great and a good time was had by all.

As I expected, some very good finds were made and I wanted to pass along some advice:

  1. One of the very good finds was under a penny signal. Dig all penny signals.
  2. If you are working an area relatively clean of trash, dig all mid-tones, including the low-end foil signals.

We are ruminating on ideas for the next year. Stay tuned.

pulltabMiner.

This entry was posted in Group Meeting on by .

About pulltabMiner

I like metal detecting and playing the ukulele. I am a better metal detectorist than I am a uke player. I also like doing things with my two sons like fishing, biking, and otherwise goofing around. In the past I have grown vegetables with great success but since we got the big dog, nothing lives in my yard that he decides should not. Occasionally, the drawing bug bites me and I draw with pencil and ink. I've dabbled in foreign languages and my latest obsession is mining and trading cryptocurrencies. I think of myself as a well rounded nerd.

2 thoughts on “December’s meeting

  1. David Filbert

    A couple of questions. What city parks in the Kansas area do not want us to metal detector on.? Pulled out a 10 inch 5 mm goal chain out of woodland Park. Where is the best place to go to, to sell it?. I am looking to up grade to a Fischer F 75 from my Garret 350, does anyone know much about the Fischer brand? Thanks

    Reply
  2. pulltabMiner Post author

    What parks can be metal detected varies city by city. It is the city government that determines if metal detecting is allowed in public areas such as parks. National and State parks are controlled, of course, by the US and the states correspondingly. As for selling your finds, most cities have a law that requires you to turn your finds to the police. If no one claims your find for a determined period of time, then you can claim your find and do with it as you please. It is best to research the laws of the locality in which you detect. Fisher is an established and respected brand. The F75 line is their top of the line product line. I myself do not have any experience with Fisher detectors but many legendary hunters use Fishers with great success.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

